Toggle menu

Electoral wards in St Helens Borough

The Local Government Boundary Commission, an independent body that reviews electoral boundaries, reviewed St Helens in 2021 to make sure that councillors equally represent about the same number of electors per ward, and that ward arrangements are working effectively.

Its recommendations were approved ahead of the 2022 whole-council local elections and mean that St Helens Borough continues to be represented by 48 councillors.

There are now 18 wards, two more than previously. There is 1 one-councillor ward, 4 two-councillor wards, and 13 three-councillor wards, as you can see on the map below (click to expand the image).

The boundaries of most of the wards have changed, as have some of the ward names and the location of some polling stations.

Below are the wards for St Helens Borough and the number of councillors per ward:

Ward name

Number of councillors per ward

Billinge & Seneley Green3
Bold & Lea Green3
Moss Bank3
Newton-le-Willows East3
Newton-le-Willows West3
Peasley Cross & Fingerpost1
Sutton North West2
Sutton South East2
Thatto Heath3
St Helens Town Centre2
West Park3