Welcome to sthelens.gov.uk

Best place to find information and services that your council provides...

Primary school rugby tournament hailed a success

Article date - 22 June 2017

13 primary schools from across St Helens took part in the Year 5 and 6 Wargrave Primary School Contact Rugby Festival last week, cheered on by some of Saints’ top players.
Wargrave rugby tournament GÇô Wargrave Primary School (5) rsz.jpg

Ashurst, Bleak Hill, Queens Park, Wargrave, St. Aidan’s, Newton-le-Willows, Nutgrove, Sherdley, Willow Tree, Broad Oak, Legh Vale, St Peter’s and Rainford all took part, with Ashurst, Bleak Hill, Broad Oak and Sherdley making it through to the semi-final stage.

Refereed and cheered on by Saints' first team members Ryan Morgan, Regan Grace, Dominique Peyroux, Jonny Lomax, Alex Walmsley and Adam Swift, Ashurst and Bleak Hill made it to the final.

Extra time was needed but eventually Ashurst came out on top with the golden point try!

Wargrave business manager and tournament organiser, Lynn Dove, commented: “Can I please say a massive thank you to all the teams that took part in the rugby tournament. It was our best attended to date and I’m sure you will agree that it was a fantastic day and we were once again very lucky with the sunshine!

“The behaviour of all the children was excellent and they are a credit to your schools. I’m sure you will all join me in sending congratulations to our 2017 winners, Ashurst Primary School, well done everyone!

“The Saints lads did a great job of refereeing the matches. They are wonderful ambassadors for the Saints. Huge thanks also to Gareth Friar from Saints Community Development Foundation for all his help and support in running the tournament."

Paul Murphy-Wade, Ashurst Primary School's Chair of Governors, said: "We're incredibly proud of our pupils! They trained hard and most importantly had a lot of fun playing. Well done to every school involved, and thanks to Wargrave for hosting the event. It was a really enjoyable day for everyone!"

Photos show Ashurst Primary (white and red) and Bleak Hill Primary (black and red) going head to head in the final game. Ashurst lift the trophy, with Saints' first team players.